Muvattupuzha administration

  • Name: Muvattupuzha Municipality
  • Taluk: Muvattupuzha
  • District: Ernakulam
  • Area: 13.18 sq km
  • Population: 27595
  • Men: 13892
  • Women: 13703
  • Literacy: 92.87 %

Till captured by Travancore Kingdom, Muvattupuzha was a part of the Vadakkumkoor. From 1949 to 1956, Muvattupuzha belonged to Kottayam district in the Travancore-Cochin State. After the formation of Kerala state, till 1958, it continued to be a part of Kottayam. As a village union, Muvattupuzha came under a council of three members set up by the government. The first president of the village union was V P Govindan Nair.

In 1953, Muvattupuzha became a panchayat. The first elected president of the panchayat committee was Kunnappallil Varkey Vaidyan. Muvattupuzha got the status of a municipality in the year 1958. N Parameswaran Nair was the first Municipal Chairman. Interestingly it was the first Municipality where communist party came to power in first general election.

Today this Municipality has 28 wards. There is a chairman and a vice chairman and various standing committees. At present the chairman is Babu U R and vice chairperson is Anis M Baburaj. Muvattupuzha is an assembly constituency and Joseph Vazhakkan is the present MLA from here. The assembly constituency is being part of Idukki (Lok Sabha constituency) and Adv Joice George is the current MP from here.

Leave this empty: